Is Dubai that bad?

So much negative press at the moment. The British press are climbing over themselves to ‘expose’ Dubai. Having spent a vast majority of my time in the Emirate, I have seen first hand the good and bad of the place.

There was a letter in the Independent on the weekend, I wish I had kept it. It was from a Dubai journalist (not) discussing the underbelly of Britain and how he was (not) going to talk about our cultural frailties.

Before anyone complains, I am not bashing any country or way of life etc. But there are always 2 sides to every story.

In Dubai, which was until very recently, just sand, foreign workers were needed to construct not just a few buildings, but an entire Emirate. Walking past the workers in their blue overalls, I was left with a sense of pride and also pity. I remember a day when I got lost having taken a short cut through a building site and 2 site workers gave me a hard hat and helped me find my way back to my hotel! I struggle to imagine the same in the UK. I felt pity as seeing them all at the side of the road eating curry and rice from a small bag, but I also felt pride as these hardworking soles were prepared to do the jobs and take the salary that most of us would turn our nose up to. So, when I saw a few workers being harassed in a shop on the marina, I felt ashamed. If it wasn’t for these workers, Dubai would not be the thriving cosmopolitan place it is today and no one should forget that.

My simplistic view of life is probably not up there with the hacks and their hard hitting stories but so what? This is my view and I don’t think I am saying anything wrong.

In the UK we are not exactly innocent in the exploitation of foreign workers yet it isn’t really focussed on anymore. Dubai is the PR dream, if you can’t beat them, knock them down.

I love Dubai, but as I was once told, you cannot judge the Middle East through Western eyes.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Is Dubai that bad?”

  1. Topics about Love-stories » Blog Archive » Is Dubai that bad? Says:

    […] Recruitment Blog placed an observative post today on Is Dubai that bad?Here’s a quick excerptSo much negative press at the moment. The British press are climbing over themselves to ‘expose’ Dubai. Having spent a vast majority of my time in the Emirate, I have seen first hand the good and bad of the place. There was a letter in the Independent on the weekend, I wish I had kept it. It was from a Dubai journalist (not) discussing the underbelly of Britain and how he was (not) going to talk about our cultural frailties. Before anyone complains, I am not bashing any country or way of lif […]

Leave a Reply

